Noteworthy sites to visit

From the marvellous to the amazing … go and discover the territory’s key sites.

The Pays des Écrins has some truly remarkable, natural sites, which have made it a famous, breathtaking place to visit.

Dormillouse, at the heart of the Parc National des Ecrins

Freissinières Dormillouse été BasicNestled in the Freissinières valley is the little hamlet of Dormillouse. The only village inhabited all year round in the heart of the Parc, Dormillouse is only accessible by a small path about an hour’s walk away. There are several impressive waterfalls on the way. Isolated but rich in history thanks to its religious past and the relics of its well-known Vaudois occupation (a temple and former school, Felix Neff’s house …), Dormillouse is composed of several little wood and stone houses. It has a rare and unique animal and plant life, so you might be privileged to see the Alpine Scabious, edelweiss, marmots, sheep (pastoralism centre) …From Dormillouse, you can choose amongst several walks available, and explore the sumptuous scenery of the Faravel and Palluel lakes.

more details

Les Mines d'Argent du Fournel (Fournel silver mine) and le Musée de la Mine (mining museum)

Mines D Argent Du Fournel Musee Des Mines 96639592bb4654b790b2The silver-lead deposit in the Fournel valley was substantially mined in the Middle Ages (10th to 13th Centuries). Using a digging technique with fire, the excavation went down to 100 metres. The silver extracted was used by the archbishoprics of Embrun, Cesana and Grenoble in their money minting workshops.

Then during the industrial revolution between 1785 and 1908, several mining companies in succession continude to extract the mineral, up to 300 metres under the mountainside. A factory was built in the depths of the Fournel gorges and the mining activity employed up to 500 people.

Since 1992, the site has been the object of various archeological excavations. Volunteer organisations have helped to rehabilitate the site which today is open to the public.

more details

Fournel Valley

Vallée Du Fournel Sites Remarquables BasicsA place to wander around and explore, Fournel valley is somewhere to be visited during your stay in the Pays des Écrins. It is a witness to the pastoral life of times gone by and more importantly, the “sanctuary” of a unique biodiversity!

more details

La réserve des Deslioures

Fournel Reserve Des Deslioures Sites Remarquables Chardon Bleu Basic3The reserve is the biggest site in Europe for the “Queen of the Alps”. Created in 1993 by the ONF (forestry commission), this “sanctuary” is included in those natural sites classified Natura 2000.

more details

Ailefroide

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables BasicAt the end of the Vallouise valley, Ailefroide must be on your list of places to see during your time in the Pays des Écrins, a hamlet set apart from outside demands, except from the mountains as a playground : a quiet, peaceful place, which must be visited.

more details

Le Pré de Madame Carle (Madame Carle’s meadow)

Pré Madame Carle Pelvoux été Sites Remarquables Basic2Formerly a fertile plain at the bottom of Vallouise valley, the Pré de Madame Carle offers itself as a gift … The road stops, taking you to the foot of the glaciers and there … nature offers you its best. If you go only to one place in Les Écrins, perhaps it should be this one….

more details

Le Glacier Blanc

Glacier Blanc Pelvoux été Sites Remarquables Basic4The second must-see place after Le Pré de Madame Carle, is the Glacier Blanc, a unique jewel in the crown of the Pay des Écrins, where mountain and ice merge. Visiting this site is a must, an opportunity to live a magic moment right there – in front of you!

more details

Les sites remarquables

Partez à la découverte des lieux phares de notre territoire des plus merveilleux aux plus étonnants.

Le Pays des Écrins est fourni en sites remarquables, qui ont fait sa notoriété et son positionnement de destination aux valeurs naturelles époustouflantes.

Dormillouse, au coeur du Parc National des Ecrins

Freissinières Dormillouse été BasicDans la vallée de Freissinières, se niche le petit hameau de Dormillouse.
Seul village habité à l’année dans le cœur du Parc national des Écrins, Dormillouse est accessible seulement par un petit sentier aménagé en à peine une heure de marche. Plusieurs cascades impressionnantes se succèdent avant d’arriver au lieu nommé.
Riche d’histoire par son passé religieux et ses marques d’une présence Vaudoise notoire (temple et ancienne école, maison de Félix Neff…) du fait de son isolement, Dormillouse est composé de plusieurs petites maisons en bois et pierres apparentes.
Avec des espèces végétales et animales rares et uniques, les rencontres sont surprenantes : céphalaire des Alpes, edelweiss, marmottes, moutons (haut-lieu de pastoralisme)…
Au départ de Dormillouse, vous pouvez vous échappez au gré de plusieurs balades, pour de somptueuses découvertes comme les lacs Faravel et Palluel.

+ de détails

Les mines d'argent du Fournel et le musée des mines

Mines D Argent Du Fournel Musee Des Mines 96639592bb4654b790b2Le gisement de plomb argentifère de la vallée du Fournel a été l’objet d’une exploitation florissante au Moyen Age (Xème-XIIIème siècles). À l’aide de la technique de creusement par le feu, les travaux se sont enfoncés jusqu’à 100 mètres du jour. L’argent extrait a alimenté les ateliers monétaires de l’archevêché d’Embrun, de Cezana et de Grenoble.
Puis durant la révolution industrielle entre 1785 et 1908, plusieurs compagnies minières se sont succédées pour achever d’extraire le minerai, jusqu’à 300 mètres sous les versants de la montagne. Une usine a été édifiée au fond des gorges du Fournel et l’activité minière occupait jusqu’à 500 personnes.
Depuis 1992, le site fait l’objet de fouilles archéologiques et de chantiers de bénévoles visant à réhabiliter ce patrimoine industriel, qui s’offre aujourd’hui au public.

+ de détails

La vallée du Fournel

Vallée Du Fournel Sites Remarquables BasicsLieu de flânerie et de découverte, la Vallée du Fournel est un passage obligé lors de votre escale au Pays des Écrins. Témoignage de la vie pastorale qu'il y régnait autrefois, il est surtout le « sanctuaire » d'une biodiversité unique !

+ de détails

La réserve des Deslioures

Fournel Reserve Des Deslioures Sites Remarquables Chardon Bleu Basic3Elle est le plus grand site européen de « reines des Alpes ». Créé en 1993 par l’Office National des Forêts, ce véritable « sanctuaire », compte parmi les sites naturels classés Natura 2000.

+ de détails

Ailefroide

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables BasicAu fin fond de la vallée de la Vallouise, Ailefroide sera une étape incontournable lors de votre séjour au Pays des Écrins, un hameau à l'abri de toutes sollicitations extérieures, si ce n'est la montagne pour terrain de jeux. Un lieu de silence et d'apaisement, une expérience à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte.

+ de détails

Le Pré de Madame Carle

Pré Madame Carle Pelvoux été Sites Remarquables Basic2Ancienne plaine fertile au fond de la vallée de la Vallouise, le Pré de Madame Carle s'offre à vous... La route s'arrête pour vous mener au pied des glaciers et là... la nature vous offre ce qu'il y a de plus beau. S'il y a un endroit où vous devez vous rendre c'est peut-être celui-là...

+ de détails

Le Glacier Blanc

Glacier Blanc Pelvoux été Sites Remarquables Basic4Le deuxième lieu le plus visité après le Pré de Madame Carle, le glacier Blanc, sous haute surveillance, est un des bijoux du Pays des Écrins, un lieu unique ou la montagne et la glace ne forment qu'un ! Un site à voir absolument, une occasion de vivre ce moment magique, c'est là... juste devant vous...

+ de détails