Ailefroide

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables BasicAt the end of the Vallouise valley, Ailefroide must be on your list of places to see during your time in the Pays des Écrins, a hamlet set apart from outside demands, except from the mountains as a playground : a quiet, peaceful place, which must be visited.

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables Basic2

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables Basic3At the foot of Mont Pelvoux, the hamlet of Ailefroide (Pelvoux commune) seems to have been forgotten by time and has thus kept its authentic feel with its stone houses. This classified natural site is only inhabited during the summer months.

Ailefroide is well-known in the Alpine world in France, being the second most important spot for Alpinism after Chamonix Mont Blanc. It is the last stage before the big southern Alpine ascents in the Massif des Écrins.

It would therefore definitely be the ideal base camp for mountaineering and climbing lovers or simply for those who want to hike. From here you can go and attack the biggest ascents in the Pays des Écrins. Many climbers come here from all over the world, also for its well-known climbing block site.

To sum up, you will be appeased by the change of scene that Ailefroide brings, revitalised, away from the hustle and bustle, with only the mountain and its silence as your neighbour.

In spring, access is by the road which leads to the famous Pré de Madame
Carle and the most stunning glaciers of the Parc national des Écrins.


Crédit photos : jan Novak Photography

Ailefroide

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables BasicAu fin fond de la vallée de la Vallouise, Ailefroide sera une étape incontournable lors de votre séjour au Pays des Écrins, un hameau à l'abri de toutes sollicitations extérieures, si ce n'est la montagne pour terrain de jeux. Un lieu de silence et d'apaisement, une expérience à ne manquer sous aucun prétexte.

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables Basic2

Ailefroide Montagne Randonnée Site Remarquables Basic3Au pied du Mont Pelvoux, Ailefroide est un hameau (commune de Pelvoux) hors du temps, qui a su garder un caractère authentique avec ses typiques maisons de pierre. Ce site naturel classé est habité uniquement à la période estivale.

Ailefroide est un haut lieu de l'alpinisme en France, puisqu'il est le 2ème spot d'alpinisme après Chamonix Mont Blanc. Il sera la dernière étape vers les plus grandes courses d'alpinisme du sud du massif des Écrins.
Ce sera à coup sûr le camp de base idéal pour tous les amoureux d'alpinisme, d'escalade, ou tout simplement de randonnée. C'est de là que vous pourrez partir à l'assaut des plus grandes voies du Pays des Écrins. Beaucoup de grimpeurs du monde entier y viennent également pour son célèbre site de blocs.

En quelques mots, Ailefroide vous apaisera par son dépaysement, un appel au ressourcement préservé de toutes nuisances avec pour seule voisine la montagne et son silence. 

Au printemps, l'accès se fera par la route qui mène au fameux Pré de Madame Carle et les plus beaux glaciers du Parc national des Écrins.


Crédit photos : jan Novak Photography